Hiking Again

Of course, I never stopped hiking, though it kind of felt like I did because I used to go every other week of so. I just got really, really cold and uncomfortable last time at Sweetwater Creek, AND I have been super busy/stressed with work, so I took a little break.

But this week, I was able to go out several times. Spring is my favorite time to hike because of the wild flowers. Today, although I didn’t take any pictures of them (the pace was too fast), I was delighted by wild irises here and there and mammoth wild azaleas sprinkled through the woods.

Earlier in the week, I saw this amazing orange azalea! Isn’t it a stunner!

There were several of these scattered about! Like little bursting fires. On both my “woodsier” hikes this week my group moved along without encountering many other people.

Of course, I always get excited about wildlife! When I picked up this guy, some people in my group were pretty surprised.

Look how he flattened out his head to look dangerous, and he was hissing too! But, I have seen all that before, and I only held him long enough to snap this picture so I could show off to my herper son.

Back to work tomorrow! It’s the downhill pass to summer break (although it often feels quite uphill). I’ve got a few more hikes planned in the coming weeks and I’m hoping to be surprised by more flora and fauna. Of course!

One response to “Hiking Again”

  1. Yikes! I’m surprised too. I see snakes sunning themselves in the road but I don’t pick them up!

    That orange azalea is truly gorgeous – how lovely to see it growing wild. Enjoy your spring hikes, and may the rest of the school year go smoothly and quickly.

    I sympathize on not wanting to exercise in cold weather – the older I get the less I want to go out when it’s cold. 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started